Our people

Brian TalbotOur Pastor – Rev Dr Brian Talbot

Brian came to Broughty Ferry from Carbrain Baptist Church in Cumbernauld in July 2007. He is married to Kathryn, a primary school teacher, who works in Hayshead Primary School, Arbroath. They have three children, Helen, Benjamin and Rachel.

In addition to work within the congregation, Brian serves on the chaplaincy team of three local schools: Barnhill and Forthill Primary Schools and Grove Academy. Since 2020, he has also been the chaplain of Broughty Athletic Football Club.  

He also represents the church at the Dundee Evangelical Christian Alliance, a growing inter-church body that unites a variety of evangelical causes in the city.

Brian, in line with the longstanding approach of this congregation, is committed to working within the wider Baptist family. In the European Baptist context this has led to a partnership with the Baptist Union of Serbia (North) where Broughty Ferry Baptist Church has been committed to supporting a church-plant work in the town of Ruma. Brian is also involved in the work of the Baptist World Alliance. He was elected to the Heritage and Identity Commission of the BWA in 2005 and has been an active participant in its work since that date.

The church also employ a part-time Youth Pastor and a part-time Children & Families worker. 

Church governance

The church is congregational in government with the church meeting the ultimate decision making body. Day to day leadership is provided by the Diaconate. At present it has the following structure:

  • Pastor
  • Chairman
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Individual Deacons have specific responsibilities

The Pastor, Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer form the Executive.